Classic inspired Power Metal by VAN CANTO Mastermind Stefan Schmidt, feat. Jörg Michael, Daniel Wicke, Sebastian Scharf and some of the greatest classic composers.

More about HEAVATAR


2018-01-06 None shall sleep

Check out the first official clip of our 2nd album.
This is „None shall sleep“.

2017-11-24 OPUS II - The Annihilation. New album out in February!

We are back! We will release our second opus „The Annihilation“ on February 16th 2018 via earMusic!
We recorded 11 songs and are so looking forward to sharing it with you. Read the complete Press Statement below:


Heavatar, the classical inspired metal band revolving around VAN CANTO mastermind Stefan Schmidt (vocals, guitar), drummer Jörg Michael (former Stratovarius), Sebastian Scharf (lead guitars), Daniel Wicke (bass)… and some of the greatest classical composers of all time are releasing their sophomore album “Opus II – The Annihilation” on February 16th, 2018 on earMUSIC.

Unlike other classic-meets-metal projects, the purpose of Heavatar is not in just adapting classical compositions to new instrumentations. It is not writing a metal song and having some orchestra playing along. Heavatar’s music is an answer to the question “What would it sound like, if Beethoven, Mozart, Chopin and friends joined a metal band?”. The classical composer’s impact ranges from a single melody to a riff, a song structure, a harmony or even a lyrical inspiration – always picked up and thrown back by the band members, creating a unique, riff-oriented sound with some classical feel underneath. Puccini is spending some chords on the thrashy opener “None Shall Sleep”, Chopin adds some piano-based shuffle feel on “Hijacked By Unicorns” and Beethoven, Mendelssohn, Boellmann and Vivaldi are adding their style and ideas to other songs on “The Annihilation”.

Standing out as a true gem of the genre and beyond, the new album displays exciting guitar riffs, a great sense for storytelling, diversified yet catchy melodies and high velocity.
If “Opus I – All My Kingdoms” was a stepping stone into the unexpected waters of classic inspired power metal, “Opus II – The Annihilation” is a cliff-dive into the same water that bravely challenges the very barriers and possibilities of it.

“Opus II – The Annihilation” is going to be released on February 16th, 2018 on earMUSIC as CD and Digital.

2014-11-04 New Line Up

Daniel Wicke is the new bass player of HEAVATAR.
Stefan Schmidt, Jörg Michael, Daniel Wicke, Sebastian Scharf

2014-10-02 German Metal Attack 3

Heavatar ON TOUR with Grave Digger, Nitrogods and Wolfen:

  • 6.11.2014: Saarbrücken, Garage
  • 7.11.2014: München, Backstage
  • 8.11.2014: Andernach, JUZ
  • 20.11.2014: Frankfurt, Batschkapp
  • 21.11.2014: Speyer, Halle 101
  • 22.11.2014: Zlin (CZ), Masters of Rock (with Van Canto)
  • 23.11.2014: Zlin (CZ), Masters of Rock Cafe
  • 27.11.2014: Pratteln (CH), Z7
  • 28.11.2014: Regensburg, Airport Straubing
  • 29.11.2014: Lahstedt / Peine: Black Hand Inn
  • 5.12.2014: Lichtenfels, Stadthalle
  • 6.12.2014: Milano (IT)
  • 7.12.2014: Ludwigsburg, Rofa
  • 26.12.2014: Berlin, C-Club
  • 27.12.2014: Rostock, Alte Zuckerfabrik
  • 28.12.2014: Hamburg, Markthalle
  • 29.12.2014: Bochum, Zeche

We want to see you there!

2013-02-17 More reviews

5 days to go until „All my Kingdoms“ (preorder at Amazon) will be released. Check out some more reviews:


„All My Kingdoms might take a little to fully hit, but once it does, the minor complaints quickly are forgotten and show a band that has the chops and concept to quickly become a major force in the Power Metal genre. Once they smooth out the few bumps they have, this could be big!“
— metal-observer.com


„Heavatar zeigen mit ihrem gelungenen Debütalbum, dass Power Metal nicht immer gleich klingen muss.“
— dark-festivals.de


„Toller Sound, toller Gesang und tolle Melodien - hier gibt es für den Power Metal-Fan nichts zu meckern.“
— pressuremagazine.de